Trafficmaster Allure Resilient Flooring Review

I installed Trafficmaster Allure a week ago in my master bedroom of my third-floor condo (over concrete). Right away you smell a chemical-type odor, which I assumed was just from the adhesive — thinking it would go away after installation. Even with the windows open, in relatively low humidity and 70 degree temperatures, the odor is pretty nauseating that I’ve been unable to sleep in my room as of yet, and I hate even going in there quickly to get something — that’s how awful the odor is. If it doesn’t go away soon, I’m going to have to pull it out, throw the $450 I paid for it down the drain, and just install carpet.

It does look good, and it was simple to install the pieces that didn’t require cutting; the other pieces were extremely tough to cut around door jambs, etc, using only a utility knife. If I would have known just how tough, I would have bought a tin-snipping tool or some other scissor-type tool for harder materials. I really hope the bad smell goes away!!!”

I would recommend some of the links above and on the side for other flooring types.
Trafficmaster Allure, Oak  Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring Review.

I like it, what do you think?  Want to find laminate flooring?  Check the links  for great deals and reviews on laminate flooring.

Comments

  1. My husband and I put traffic master product in our basement. Not easy to cut, lots of work to install. Main disappointment came when we spend hours and hours installing this stuff and now it lifts all over the place. We tried different types of glue and nothing works. If your floors are not PERFECTLY flat (ours had imperfection because of the concrete, floor dips to lead water towards the drain, etc.) – DON’T INSTALL THIS PRODUCT…..

  2. What about installing over old ceramic tiles? Will the squares show through the new flooring?

  3. Save your money. Installing is only the beginning. This flooring scratches and scuffs just by walking on it and it won’t come off. Try scratching a sample in the store with your fingernail. That’s what the whole floor will look like in less than a year.

  4. thai sanders says:

    I have recently installed this flooring throughout my home. Please tell me if the smell dissipated, and how long did it take. thanks

  5. I installed this in my garage in the fall. I followed every direction, even using a 100 pound roller over the seams. The seams are coming undone on the whole thing. What a waste of money.

  6. I am thinking about pulling out my trafficmaster tile because the smell is so bad after three weeks of opening windows, washing with vinegar, putting baking soda everywhere, burning candles. It looks good and was easy to install but the smell is making me sick.

    Please call the company at 1-866-843-8453 and report any problems you have to them.

  7. I just moved into a house that has grey Trafficmaster Allure flooring in the kitchen. It does look decent, not great. I believe it was installed about 6 months ago. The strong chemical odor is terrible! We’ve tried airing out the house which helps a little. We’ve also tried washing it several times with Pine-Sol, but then the house just smells like Pine-Sol and toxic chemicals. As soon as I can afford it, I’m going to rip it out and put tile down.

  8. Roger Edwards says:

    I put my Trafficmaster flooring down a month ago and the odor is still terrible. Judging from various posts on the internet mine is not an isolated case and it appears the mfg will only, after pressure is applied, offer a refund. This is wrong. They knowingly continue to sell a defective product. If you have had this problem and would like to join me in doing something about it, please contact me:

    Roger Edwards
    roger.edwards1000@gmail.com

    October 11, 2010

  9. My husband and I put this floor through out our home. It was very easy to install, but it is popping up in places. In our hall the planks have a milky white film over it, not sure what that is but can not get it off. The only thing I have used to clean my floors is a foam mop with just water. It is weird because it is not doing that anywhere but the hall leading to my front door.
    I have purchased different cleaners for the vinyl plank floors and got on my hands and knees with this and a rag trying to get it off but nothing has worked. Any suggestions?

  10. I installed the trafficmaster ceramica peel and stick vinyl two months ago. The smell is still strong and I aired it out daily the first month. Looks like I may be getting the run around from the company. I specifically chose it because it didn’t seem to smell in the store, but once installed in a whole room I can really smell it. Suggestions on cleaning it haven’t helped at all.

  11. I also have had a very bad experience with the Allure vinyl smell. I think this is a consumer issue that may require a class action to resolve (neither Halstead nor Home Depot seem to be doing ANY corrective measures to fix or WARN consumers of the toxic smell problem). More importantly, other potential consumers should not have to have go through this. It looks like this has been a problem way back since 2007 (or maybe even earlier). For Halstead (manufacturer) and Home Depot to not have fixed this by now is very unethical.

    We need to do something for those who have been affected by this toxic smelling product, and help prevent other consumers from having to go through this terrible experience as well.

    Anyone who has been affected by this product smell should continue to post to this group, so we can rally our forces to protect future unknowing consumers, and get fair compensation for those that have had the problem.

    If you know of other forums with same complaint, let them know of the conversation here.

  12. I have a rent house I put traffic master allure oak through out. It has started coming apart at the ends of some boards and some of the seams. amd it is easy to damage. I called the company and they sent someone out to look it over. He said I would hear from them in a few weeks and it has been longer than that so I am calling again today. Don’t waste your money on this product. we do need a class action against them.

  13. Lee Martinez says:

    My husband purchased the allure tiles back in Nov. 2010 at home depot in Allentown PA the smell was so bad I was getting ill from the rotten odor the tiles released. I tried moping them I tried puting candles air freshners nothing seemed to work with the rotten odor. After a month of the tiles being set I had my husband rip them out. I wish no one would have to go thru this over $300.00 thrown in the garbage. I notified Home Depot I was told that they had no complaints on this product. SHAME ON THEM SOMTHING NEEDS TO BE DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Let’s keep hearing of others who would like to be part of a class action. At the end of January, we should know if we have a have a group that would like to be part of the action.

    I have done some investigation on what it takes to file. I am sure we have enough people complaining about the toxic smell issue, and even the issues related to it “peeling”. Has anyone kept any contaminated sheets of vinyl, and had it analyzed. We don’t want to discuss the results in this forum, but it would be good to know if it has been done. The real issue is the KNOWN impact it has on everyone. It is a LOT more than just outgassing, and the burning eyes and sore throats are only a symptom of something that is bad. Others should not go through this.

  15. This belongs to the most outstanding blogs Ive experience in the extremely lengthy time. The amount of information in this is stunning, like you practically wrote the book throughout the topic. Your weblog is fantastic for any individual who wishes to spot this topic far more. Fantastic things; please always maintain it up!

  16. does all of the allure have these problems or just certain ones? my mother was interested the allure sedona. i used scissors to try to scratch a sample piece of it and it would not scratch. it does have a smell though. if anyone has used the sedona please let me know about it. thanks

  17. I installed this flooring on august of last yr and by january 2011 the sides have started peeling out!i installed this tile because of high recommendation from home depot for basements with water problems and now the company claim the moisture and ph levels in my basement for the peeling.Home depot did not mention anything to us about this tile peeling up if we have moisture or Ph problem.I soent about 1000 dollars for this flooring and now i either need the money back or atleast some solution to thi problem!I think an action need to be taken!They are just looting customers with false promises!

  18. Melitta Hauser says:

    Thanks I was just about to purchase this product. YIKES!!

  19. I was going to purchase this product as well….AT LEAST a 1000sft…THANK YOU! Based on what I have read here….I will gladly pass and use the click lock product from an online source instead….

  20. Is this tile everyone is speaking of or the vinyl plank? Does it matter? I have an investment home I am flipping and am looking for a wood look. As a realtor, laminate is a four letter word to most buyers and the home wont recoup the cost of wood floors. Please let me know who has had experience with the new Allure Trafficmaster vinyl plank flooring. Thanks in advance.

  21. I have purchased about 700 square feet of this allure viny plank flooring from home depot in brooklyn, new york, on October of 2011. was installed thru my whole apartment, and
    for these past 3 months i have been suffering from my eyes tearing, and the smell of rubber and glue in my apartment. i have invested a great deal of money on cleaning supplies so to hopefully get the smell out, and nothing worked. now the planks are coming out of place popping out.
    Please if anyone starts to file any kind of lawsuit, please advise me
    my email is
    raraus25@yahoo.com we must all take action, this is unacceptable that the manufarcturer or their distributors are not admitting the down flault with this flooring, and here we the public invested time and money and are suffering from things that are detrimental to our health.
    thank you in advance

  22. MojoMister says:

    Installed in October 2010. Now in Feb 2011 it reeks. Surprisingly the smell gets worse after washing it. Mine is the Sierra pattern Run # 10.03.2010. Fortunately it’s only in our bathroom and we can close the door which helps a little but the smell still permeates our whole bedroom. We like the color and install was fairly easy but due to the smell and fear that it’s damaging our health, it’s got to go. Time to see how accomodating my local Home Depot is. I definitely don’t recommend this product.

  23. Many thanks. Going to pass on this product and just go with sheet vinyl.

  24. WantNewFloors says:

    I’m SO glad I found this site. I got 10 samples and was ready to pick a fav.

    THank you!

  25. Just installed this product yesterday in our son’s room and am super bummed out now after reading these posts. I went on the internet because these tiles stink and I wanted to see how long, if ever, it takes for them to not smell… I left a t-shirt I was wearing overnight in there after installing and the next morning it stunk like the tiles – bad stuff

  26. Will you please reply to JWayne. I too would like to know if it’s the same for the vinyl plank

  27. Shew!!! Yes, thank-you to those of you who were kind enough to share your experiences. I was crazy about the product in the store, but I know now that I won’t be purchasing it for sure!!

  28. Can’t believe this! I was on my way out the door to Home Depot to place my order for the Lisbon cork light. Then thought I better look at a few reviews. Of course the Home Depot reviews on the Allure products are excellent! Then I discovered this site.
    thank you so much for the information-I was going to have it installed to “surprise” my husband! Man, I’m lucky you all were honest and reviewed this product honestly. I am sorry many of you have had a horrible exerience-too bad for the product-it looks pretty cool…
    Thank you

  29. WOW!!! I just purchased some of this flooring for my home. I have 3 dogs that have done a number to my carpet. Home Depot spoke highly of this product especially when dealing with dogs. OMGoodness!

  30. I just put this product in my long hallway. I have a bedroom off the hallway and didn’t detect any strong or objectionable odor. I do smell a little odor, but nothing severe. I also found that it is extremely difficult to cut with a utility knife and I used scissors to cut the product instead. It took awhile to do it, but I was very happy with the outcome. I have a large living room off the hallway and have thought about installing this product over the existing heart pine flooring, which is in tough shape. I do have dogs and because of the water resiliency I thought this might be the best product for those occasions when there may be an accident. I know of another individual who installed these floors and absolutely loved them. I guess for me, time will tell.

  31. I installed the vinyl planking in my home office several months ago and it looks fine and no smell. There probably was a little smell for several days but not at a level to be annoying, at least to me.

  32. Well I was getting ready to purchase this product and install in my spare room that my grand kids use but know I am unsure, going by the last 2 posts sounds like they might have fixed the smell issue but not sure if I am willing to take the chance. As far as the posts where they installed over concreate , I had read that that can be an issue do to the moisture that can be in a concert floor. I will have to do more thinking but thanks for all the good posts

  33. I love this product for the style (saw in Home Depot) but with these reviews, it changed my perspective. I’ll go with a roll lenolium for our kitchen, instead. Thank you all for the reviews.

  34. I almost went out today to purchase this product…..boy, am I glad I read the blogs first. I have dogs who stay in my kitchen when I’m out of town. My friend comes in 3x’s a day to check on them and let them out but still there are accidents. I had looked for quite a while before finding this product and I was ready to roll, that is, of course, until I read your comments. Thanks so much for posting them and saving the unsuspected lots of problems. My dogs already have lots of health issues and I don’t need them living with plastic chemicals. I wish you all well in your attempts to file suit. Again, thanks!!!

  35. I’d like to see the employees that say this product is good install it in their own homes. My husband and I were just about to buy this flooring today. Thanks for telling me what this no good crappy floor does.

  36. Had the Yukon Tan Allure vinyl tile installed in my bathroom 5 months ago. There wasn’t any smell at all, it hasn’t scratched or peeled up. It looks great. Guess I just got lucky with it.

  37. My floor has been down for about 6 weeks and still has an odor. Anybody file a class action.

  38. We just put down the Allure vinyl flooring (in Oak) in a small bedroom about 3 weeks ago. The smell is horrid. I have tried mopping it and leaving the windows open and its not going away. Has the smell gone away for anyone else who has had this issue? Any luck in getting a refund from Home Depot or the manufacturer?

  39. c. dufour says:

    WE ARE RIPPING OUR FLOOR OUT THIS WEEK AND TAKING IT BACK TO HOME DEPOT FOR A REFUND.
    It’s to bad this floor is such a LITERAL HEADACHE AND A HUGH HEALTH HAZARD because it was inexpensive, pretty easy to install and looks great but IT CAN’T BE SAFE.

    It was warm the day we laid it down so we had the windows open and didn’t really notice any odor. The next day we noticed a slight odor and thought it must be from the vinyl being boxed up.

    I opened the windows and door for cross ventilation and assumed it would go away after it had aired out a bit but it didn’t.

    We kept opening the windows everyday, even when it was chilly but by the end of the week the fumes were stronger than ever and I was starting to worry. I had been getting headaches, my eyes burned and watered and my nose burned and ran, on top of all of this I would get a sore throat and I HAD A CHEMICAL TASTE IN MY MOUTH when I was in the room for only a few minutes. When the door was left open the obnoxious fumes filled other parts of the house. So the door is shut I can’t have this

    opened the windows a lot, even when it was chilly and left the door open for cross ventilation thinking time would take care of it. Instead it got worse and we could not be in the room or have the door open because of the strong fumes. I watch a 6 month old and was not happy and

    W

    If we go in the room or leave the door open the obnoxious fumes cause headaches,

    eyes to burn and water, nose to run and burn, sore throat and a chemical taste in your mouth.
    THIS IS NOT HEALTHY
    This is a room that my grand kids use when they are here. Three have allergies and one has epilepsy so I want nothing to do with this floor.

    hen I go in the room or leave the door open I get a headache, my eyes and nose burn and run and I get a sore throat and chemical taste in my mouth.

    Last week, I called HALSTEAD INTERNATIONAL (the company that makes this product) at 1-203-299-3100 (which is the number on their web site) I told them of the odor and that when I go in the room I get a headache, my eyes and nose burn and run and that I get a sore throat and chemical taste in my mouth. I have to keep the door shut or the fumes get out into the rest of the house.
    The girl I talked to said that she was unaware of this problem and asked if I had used a solution of vinegar and water on the floor. I told her no and asked her what that was suppose to do. She said, “It should take care of the odor and if it doesn’t work, call back.” She also told me to turn on fans and open the windows, as if I had not already done this. Vinegar and water was a waste of time, the nauseating odor is still there. The floor has now been down for 2 weeks and the odor is as strong as ever. I called them back yesterday at 1-866-843-8453 (which is the number in the owners manual that comes with the product) I was on hold for 20 minutes and then disconnected after a recording wanted me to leave my name, number and message and told me that I would be contacted by a rep. the next business day. I immediately called the web site number back and talked to Amanda, she said that she had not heard of a problem with odor but immediately started telling me what to do to fix it. Now, if she had not heard of this problem why would she know ways to fix it? Her suggestions were to open windows, use fans, wash the floor with vinegar and water a couple of times and if that doesn’t work use baking soda and water…… Hum, BAKING SODA, VINEGAR, isn’t this how you make a volcano for school projects. How scary is this getting? She also said that she could send me a synthetic neutralizer to use on the floor. I refused because this is getting to be a lot of work and not sure it will take care of the problem. The neutralizer sounds like a mask for the problem. She then said that I could take it back for a refund. I asked her to send me a copy of the MSBS material sheet. She said she would but I have not read it yet today. I did read the owners manual from front to back and no where does it mention any odor or vinegar or baking soda or a neutralizer.
    Rip up your floors and demand your money back. Even if you don’t have your receipt you have the product and Home Depot is the only store that carries it. Save a couple planks or tiles just to prove you had it if this should go to court. COMPLAIN, COMPLAIN, COMPLAIN because this is a serious health hazard and cover-up

    There was no odor while we were laying it. I had to leave for a while and my husband finished. when I got home I noticed the odor and thought it would go away but the next day it was worse and by the end of the week it was stronger and has not gone away. This is a room that my grand kids use when they are here. Three have allergies and one has epilepsy, not healthy for them to be in that room.

  40. c. dufour says:

    SOMETHING HAPPENED HERE AND I GOT POSTED BEFORE I WAS DONE. MUST HAVE PUSHED THE WRONG BUTTON

    I HAVE A LOT OF STUFF TO SAY AND I’M NOT TO GOOD AT TYPING. I COPY AND PAST AND MAKE A MESS BEFORE I GET MY ACT TOGETHER. BECAUSE I WANT MY ACT TO BE PERFECT. AS YOU CAN SEE MY ACT WAS NOT TOGETHER OR PERFECT YET.

    WISH I COULD DELETE AND DO AGAIN ANYONE HAVE A SUGGESTION?

    SORRY FOR ALL OF THE CONFUSION BUT I GUESS IF YOU CAN STAND TO WALLOW THROUGH THE MESS YOU CAN GET MY DRIFT.

    THIS FLOOR IS UNSAFE AND SOMEWHERE, SOMEONE WILL SUFFER HARM.
    SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. NOW

  41. c. dufour says:

    WE ARE RIPPING OUR FLOOR OUT THIS WEEK AND TAKING IT BACK TO HOME DEPOT FOR A REFUND.
    It’s to bad this floor is such a LITERAL HEADACHE AND A HUGH HEALTH HAZARD because it was inexpensive, pretty easy to install and looks great but IT CAN’T BE SAFE.

    It was warm the day we laid it down so we had the windows open and didn’t really notice any odor. The next day we noticed a slight odor and thought it must be from the vinyl being boxed up.
    I opened the windows and door for cross ventilation and assumed it would go away after it had aired out a bit but it didn’t.

    We kept opening windows everyday, even when it was chilly but by the end of the week the fumes were stronger than ever and I was starting to worry. I had been getting headaches, my eyes burned and watered and my nose burned and ran, on top of all of this I would get a sore throat and I HAD A CHEMICAL TASTE IN MY MOUTH, when I was in the room for only a few minutes. When the door was left open the fumes filled other parts of the house. So the door is shut.
    This is a room that my grand kids use when they are here. Three have allergies and one has epilepsy so I want nothing to do with this floor.

    Last week, I called HALSTEAD INTERNATIONAL (the company that makes this product) at 1-203-299-3100 (which is the number on their web site) I told them of the odor.
    The girl I talked to, said she was UNAWARE OF THIS PROBLEM and asked if I had used a solution of vinegar and water on the floor. I told her no and asked her what that was suppose to do. She said, “It should take care of the odor and if it doesn’t work, call back.” She also told me to turn on fans and open the windows, as if I had not already done this.

    Vinegar and water a waste of time, the nauseating odor is still there. The floor has now been down for 2 weeks and the odor is as strong as ever. So, I called them back yesterday at 1-866-843-8453 (which is the number in the owners manual that comes with the product) I was on hold for 20 minutes and then promptly disconnected after a recording wanted me to leave my name, number and message and told me that I would be contacted by a rep. the next business day. I immediately called the web site number back and talked to Amanda, she said that she was UNAWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. but immediately started telling me what to do to fix it.
    Now, if she had not heard of this problem why would she know ways to fix it? Her suggestions were to open windows, use fans, wash the floor with vinegar and water a couple of times and if that doesn’t work use baking soda and water……
    Hum, BAKING SODA, VINEGAR, isn’t this how you make a volcano for school projects. How scary is this? She also said that she could send me a synthetic neutralizer to use on the floor. I refused because this is getting to be a lot of work and no one seems to know what will work. I told her that i did not want to be doing all of this work and i did not want the floor in my house. She told me I could rip it up and take it back for a refund but nothing else. I asked her to send me a copy of the MSBS material sheet. She said she would. Can’t wait to read it. I did read the owners manual from front to back and no where does it mention any odor or vinegar or baking soda or a neutralizer.
    Rip up your floors and demand your money back. Even if you don’t have your receipt you have the product and Home Depot is the only store that carries it. Save a couple planks or tiles just to prove you had it if this should go to court. COMPLAIN, COMPLAIN, COMPLAIN because this is a serious health hazard and cover-up. Someone will be seriously injured by this product and they don’t seem to care. YET!!!

  42. The odor does go away but it takes a few months, not days like the installation manual states. It’s very annoying and almost ruined our family Christmas this past year as I had just installed it two weekd prior.
    I’m wondering if anyone has had any moisture issues. I had to pull up most of what I laid down because moisture is collecting between the concrete slab and the vinyl. I laid it over wood parque and the parque is buckling and pushing up in areas as much as three inches. I’ve checked for plumbing leaks and did not have any issues with the foundation prior to installation and this started showing up about two months after it had been down. I pulled up a large portion (pulling the planks apart is much more difficult that the instructin state) that had developed mold. I’m very disappointed in this product. I used to install carpet and sheet vinyl for a living and thought this product was a great invention but now, I’ve changed my mind.

  43. This product should come with an OSHA warning!! I do not have allergies, very minor sinus problems, but thought I was going to die from the headache and lung problems this product caused. My contractor all but refused to go back into the room to finish. I went back to Home Depot today to express my concern and there was no problem. “Rip it up and bring it back” bring in the contractors billing also. They have had many returns on this product. DON’T DO IT!!! It looks great, but it does not cut the way it needs to for great installation and the smell is so bad that you should invite a skunk in first!

  44. I am seriously worried about Home Depot. After the fiasco with the Allure floor I did some more research. The are also the only store that carries the STOK grill. I got pulled into that one too. Great grill but the high priced “extras” are Walmart quality vegetable grills and griddles. I am so afraid that Home Depot has gone to the dumps for their products. I used to LOVE Home Depot, but now I am afraid I will not return.

  45. jeanne prichard says:

    Very excited about how easy this floor was to install, and after working most of one day on it, we both had headaches and body aches. Thought it was from the installation, but when I went back to finish the adjacent room, within 10 minutes I had a blinding headache and nose run. The smell had not gone away in 3 days!?!?!
    Love the floor and will give it one more chance to vent and then ripping it up and demanding more than just my return from Home Depot. I have faith that they will, or else a sceen will ensue, take care of this problem.

  46. Wow i can’t believe it I just put in the laminate allure flooring like vinyl, and i kept telling my friend I’m all stuffed up all of a sudden. I don’t have sinus or allergies. Tuesday and now its saturday and i’m still stuff with lots of pain and pressure in my head I even had to take a day off work the first time i every took a sick day in five years. So i know i was hurting but it wont unclog no matter how much comes out. I believe now from reading it from the floor. I can’t live like this. And the floor suck putting it in, i believe it would have been easier if it was a square room, without alot of cuts. I am going to complaint now i new this didn’t make any sense instantly stuffed for almost a week now.

  47. J D'Andrea says:

    I have been considering Allure vinyl plank flooring for my entry, kitchen and bath (granite look- alike “Ashler” 211713) I had looked at many samples and kept going back to this because I really liked the way it looked. It seemed to be the pefect product for my situation, that didn’t cost a fortune. Was just about commtted to purchase until I read all of these comments. Wow, this is really scary. No way do I want to invite the possible odor problems into my small home. Thank you all for your very candid reiews. I hope you can get some type of reimbursement. I will continue my search for the right product!

  48. Grandma Cindy says:

    Purchase today 9-13-13 Traffic Master Glueless Brazilian Cherry wood laminate. Just finished reading the instructions. There is a caution to only Minnesota residents about FERMALDEHYDE EXPOSURE AND THESE PRODUCTS MAY CONTAIN EITHER ASBESTOS FIBERS AND/OR CRYSTALLINE SILICA. After reading all your comments on the Allure flooring I was wondering if anyone has installed the laminated wood. I am scared to install this product in my house. I bought 40 boxes. I need to know of any problems. I have lung problems…..
    Our weather has been in the low 100′s and humidity in the high 60′s.

    Please anyone call me. 562-631-3007

  49. My husband just installed the plank flooring in our bathroom. We have not noticed a smell at all, but now I’m worried about it lifting and peeling! I’m the one who talked him into this floor! It looked so good in Home Depot and they assured me that it was great flooring! Crap, crap, crap!!!!!!!! If it starts going bad, he is not going to be very happy with me! We paid over 300 bucks for this stuff. Why do they feel that they have to cheat you with everything? Just goes to show you that you should always check stuff out before doing ANYTHING! If I see any sign of it lifting-any sign at all-I’m going for a lawyer!

  50. Installed over 600 sq ft. Have had zero issues with this flooring. Odor was gone in less than two days. No lifting at edges. My first attempt ever. Rolled with a heavy roller. Would use this again.

  51. Barbara Ross says:

    I am a 64 year old woman and I own 13 rentals in Oklahoma I got tired of buying new carpet and pad every few years so I started thinking of alternatives. I installed Allure in three of them so far myself. I have never written a review before on anything, but on a full house I installed a little over a year ago, I was amazed at how easy it goes down. I would tell friends this is what I was doing and the company said it would even hold up n a flood. They always said, “don’t try it.” This weekend I had a pipe burst and flood this house. I mopped and sopped all day. I turned off the water when I found out but it is vacant and it was awhile before I went in there. Much, much water. I finally got it dry and the floor looks the same. The water even got under the wood…you would think it was dry, step on it, water would come out. I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t seen it myself.

  52. Laurie Kunselman says:

    We installed Allure flooring in our kitchen about a year and a half ago. I did notice a strong vinyl smell for a while, but since it was installed in summer and the windows were open most of the time, it wasn’t a real issue. My complaint is that the finish is worn off all over the place and it looks AWFUL!! There are only two of us living here so we don’t have the foot traffic that an active family would. I am so very disappointed in the flooring!! I guess it is just too good to be true.

  53. James Griffith says:

    Had 960 square feet of Allure vinyl teak installed about ten days ago. Installation done by Home Depot. The stuff smells bad. The whole house reeks with a strong and persistent chemical odor. I have fans running in four windows 24 hours and it keeps the odor down somewhat as long as the fans run. I am very disappointed in this odor problem as my wife has lung issues. May have to have it all removed. I guess that the smell is the result of chemicals outgassing from the flooring. Bah! What a waste.

  54. Not one good review. I was considering this product and feel sorry for all of you who have wasted time and money and compromised your health with this stuff. I will not buy it now for sure. Thank goodness for this site.

  55. you are in point of fact a good webmaster. The
    site loading speed is incredible. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a excellent activity in this subject!

  56. Hi there I am so excited I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I
    was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a
    tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but
    I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read more, Please
    do keep up the superb work.

  57. If you want a brutally honest opinion of how your house
    looks, invite someone who is unbiased to do a
    walk through and make suggestions. Not all of the buttons in all
    of the different car models look the same, but the
    concept is more or less the same. Go down the steps, and listen to the guards for a
    little foreshadowing.

  58. I installed Allure two years ago in a bathroom. I don’t recall any problem with smell. In fact the only real problem I had was cutting planks to fit snugly around the curvy base of the toilet. But that was because of my ineptness in taking close measurements, scribing, and making templates, not the the product itself. Two years later the floor still looks great, brand new in fact, and is a breeze to clean and maintain. I love it, at least the bathroom application.

    Two weeks ago I decided to use Allure again, this time in the kitchen. By and large the project went as smoothly as the previous bathroom job; i.e. with the trickiest part being my own ineptness in measuring/cutting curves and odd angles. But there was also a significant difference in ‘degree of difficulty’ between the bathroom project of two years ago and the kitchen project of two weeks ago. Specifically, this time around I found the product much harder to cut, and much harder to get a really clean cut, especially on butt ends of the planks, so that a cut butt end would mesh and marry nicely with the factory-trimmed butt end of the plank next to it.

    With regard to cutting in general, the instructions and many online videos would have you believe that all it takes is a few strong passes with a razor knife before you can bend and then back-cut the mesh underlayment to achieve a nice, clean cut…much as is done when cutting drywall. Don’t believe it. Such claims may be technically true, but as a practical matter they are fairly useless. Cutting drywall by the traditional method does not provide a nice, clean, razor-sharp edge, but rather a somewhat ragged edge, which then should be rasped or sanded to smooth things out. And in any case, drywall joints will be taped, compounded, and sanded to ultimately provide seamlessness. Obviously you cannot do that with ANY vinyl plank flooring. You need a nice, clean, near razor-sharp cut right from the git-go, because without such a cut you are left with ragged ends and gaping joints. Oh, the casual observer may not notice, but you will.

    I don’t know how to explain the difference in ‘degree of difficulty’ between my fist Allure project and this last one. Maybe the manufacturer has made the product somewhat thicker, or changed the composition to make it tougher. All I know is that in my recent project I found it much, much harder to cut the planks in either direction and achieve a truly smooth edge. In fact I found it nearly impossible. In my cuts I would score 20, 30, 40 times or more before bending and back-cutting. In some instances I wouldn’t stop scoring before I had cut completely through. But it seems that almost no matter what I did I still ended up with semi-ragged edges, especially on the butt ends of the planks. And mind you, I used a metal straight-edge guide, clamped down and held down by hand pressure, and I changed blades in my razor knife frequently.

    I have seen some online videos which suggest that the best way to cut the planks so as to achieve nice, crisp, clean edges is to use tin snips, roofing tile shears, or some other form of heavy-duty scissors. That may be true. And if so, it would be nice if the manufacturer said so, and ceased from suggesting that all that is required to cut and trim the planks is a utility knife with a sharp blade. And besides, aren’t we all reluctant to buy new, specialized tools when the likelihood is that we will use them only for the immediate task at hand, and never again?

    I have to no avail written the manufacturer, and searched fruitlessly online, for a solution to my specific problem of ragged butt ends. All I want to know is how to smooth-out the less-than-perfect butt end joints. From the little I have gathered online, and with no thanks at all to the manufacturer, the best I can glean is that the solution lies somewhere between the application of a heat gun and the application of some filler material, and likely some combination of both.

    It’s quite frustrating. Forums like this one are filled with hundreds of complaints about Allure’s smell (which I have not experienced), its inappropriateness for basements and concrete floors (which was not my situation), and other complaints about the planks buckling and peeling. I have no complaints along any of those lines. My general complaint is the product’s resistance to easy cutting, and more spefically the difficulty, near impossibility, of achieving really nice, clean cuts.

    Surely I can’t be the only one out there who has experienced these problems. But now that the floor is laid, I would welcome and be thankful for any tips on how to fix my specific problem. How can I correct for some butt end joints which leave a millimeter or two of a gap?

    Thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. [...] my birds by my side!   I just read something about the Allure floor having an odor… Trafficmaster Allure Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring Review | Flooring Reviews – Laminate, Hardwood, … __________________ The Nani Show! I love Avian [...]

Speak Your Mind

*